Alameda CTC Unanimously Re-elects Chair and Elects New Vice Chair

Yesterday, Alameda CTC unanimously re-elected Chair John J. Bauters and elected Alameda County District I Supervisor David Haubert as Vice Chair of the Commission.

“I am grateful to my peers for the privilege of serving as Chair of the Commission. Alameda CTC has a strong track record of planning, funding and delivering on its promises to voters. I look forward to continuing to advance transportation projects and programs that serve communities throughout Alameda County,” noted Chair Bauters.

Some of the efforts currently being implemented include:

  • Delivering transportation projects and programs included in voter-approved 2014 Measure BB Transportation Expenditure Plan.
  • Continuing to advance equity, including implementation of the Alameda CTC Race and Equity Action Plan and supporting equitable engagement.
  • Furthering multimodal infrastructure that prioritizes the safety of all users and advancing Vision Zero policies and strategies, particularly in historically underserved communities.
  • Investing in active transportation with a focus on eliminating the High-Injury Network across the County and encouraging sustainable development with the integration of transportation and land use planning. Last year Alameda CTC adopted a 400-mile Countywide Bikeways Network that set a vision for a high-quality, safe and comfortable bikeways network to connect all of Alameda County.
  • Advancing zero emission technologies. In 2022, Alameda CTC’s held its first Clean Fuel Summit, where agency and non-profit leaders showcased the industry-leading work being done in Alameda County with regard to clean fuel technologies.

Newly elected Vice Chair Haubert remarked, “I am honored to serve as the Commission’s Vice Chair and will work tirelessly to serve the entire county. I am excited to work with my fellow Commissioners to effectively deliver multimodal transportation projects to improve the lives of people countywide.”

Alameda CTC’s Chair and Vice Chair are elected to serve a two-year term. A complete list of Commissioners can be found online at

Chair Bauters and Vice Chair Haubert in January 2023






Press Release