Skip to main content

Alameda CTC Commission

The Commission is comprised of 22 members, with the following representation:

  • All five Alameda County Supervisors
  • Two Oakland representatives
  • One representative from each of the other 13 cities
  • AC Transit
  • BART

Commission meetings are held at 1111 Broadway, Suite 800 in downtown Oakland at 2:00 p.m. on the fourth Thursday of the month. See Meeting Calendar for links to agendas, materials and minutes.

Alameda CTC Commission

Chair: Alameda County Supervisor Richard Valle, District 2

Vice Chair: San Leandro Mayor Pauline Cutter

Jurisdiction Member Alternate
AC Transit Board President Elsa Ortiz Board Director H.E. Christian Peeples
Alameda County, District 1 Supervisor Scott Haggerty Vacant
Alameda County, District 3 Supervisor Wilma Chan Councilmember Annie Campbell-Washington
Alameda County, District 4 Supervisor Nate Miley Vacant
Alameda County, District 5 Supervisor Keith Carson Mayor Peggy McQuaid
BART Director Rebecca Saltzman President Robert Raburn
City of Alameda Mayor Trish Herrera Spencer Councilmember Jim Oddie
City of Albany Councilmember Peter Maass Councilmember Nick Pilch
City of Berkeley Mayor Jesse Arreguin Councilmember Kriss Worthington
City of Dublin Mayor David Haubert Councilmember Arun Goel 
City of Emeryville Mayor John Bauters Vice Mayor Ally Medina
City of Fremont Mayor Lily Mei Councilmember David Bonaccorsi
City of Hayward Mayor Barbara Halliday Councilmember Marvin Peixoto
City of Livermore Mayor John Marchand Councilmember Bob Coomber
City of Newark Councilmember Luis Freitas Councilmember Maria Collazo
City of Oakland Councilmember Dan Kalb Councilmember Abel Guillen
City of Oakland Councilmember At-Large Rebecca Kaplan Councilmember Abel Guillen
City of Piedmont Vice Mayor Teddy Gray King Mayor Robert McBain
City of Pleasanton Mayor Jerry Thorne Councilmember Kathy Narum
City of Union City Mayor Carol Dutra-Vernaci Councilmember Emily Duncan

Commission Standing Committees

The Alameda County Transportation Commission has established five standing committees to assist the Commission in fulfilling the agency’s mission, as well as two committees to oversee operations of the I-580 and I-680 Express Lanes. See the Meeting Calendar for links to agendas, materials and minutes.

Finance and Administration Committee (FAC): The functions and authority of the FAC are agency operations and performance; human resources and personnel policies and procedures; administrative code; salary and benefits; procurement policies and procedures; procurement of administrative contracts; contract preference programs for entities such as local business enterprises, small business enterprises and disabled business enterprises; bid protests and complaints related to administrative contract procurement; annual budget and financial reports; investment policy and reports; audit reports, financial reporting, internal controls and risk management; and the annual work program.

Goods Movement Planning Committee (GMPC): The matters within the jurisdiction of the GMPC are goods-movement-specific plans and studies, beyond those addressed in the Planning, Policy and Legislation Committee; goods movement partnership and collaboration; goods movement-specific policy development; updates on Goods Movement Plan implementation from staff and other agencies; local, state and federal funding pertaining to goods movement projects and programs; and local, state and federal legislative issues pertaining to goods movement.

I-580 Express Lanes Policy Committee (I-580 PC): The functions and authority of the I-580 PC are policy, management and operations of the I-580 Express Lanes in the Tri-Valley. The I-580 PC considers and recommends policies to the Commission for delivery and operation of the toll facility on a regular basis and coordinates policies with the Metropolitan Transportation Commission in relation to its express lane network policies. The I-580 PC consists of the Commission chair and one representative from each of the following jurisdictions: Alameda County and the cities of Dublin, Livermore and Pleasanton.

I-680 Sunol Smart Carpool Lane Joint Powers Authority (I-680 JPA): The functions and authority of the I-680 JPA are management, operations and performance of the I-680 Express Lane as well as development of the annual report. The Sunol Smart Carpool Lane JPA consists of five elected officials, four voting members from Alameda County and one voting member from Santa Clara County. Voting rights were determined based on each county’s share of road miles within the corridor.

Programs and Projects Committee (PPC): The functions and authority of the PPC are local, state, congestion management agency Transportation Improvement Program (TIP), TFCA Vehicle Registration Fee (VRF) programs and Expenditure Plan programs and projects; local, state and federally funded projects and funding programs; the annual strategic plan for programs and projects; funding requests from project sponsors and other eligible recipients; paratransit services programs and projects; bicycle and pedestrian projects and programs; funding allocations to various transportation programs and projects; eminent domain proceedings; environmental evaluations; contract procurement; good faith efforts policies and procedures; and bid protests and complaints regarding engineering and construction contract procurement.

Planning, Policy and Legislation Committee (PPLC): The functions and authority of the PPLC are the Congestion Management Program; Countywide Transportation Plan; federal, state, regional and local transportation and land-use planning policies and studies; amendments to the 1986 Expenditure Plan or the 2000 Expenditure Plans; amendments to the VRF Expenditure Plan; transit-oriented development and priority development area projects and programs; the annual legislative program; state and federal legislative matters; general and targeted outreach programs; and advisory committee performance and effectiveness.

Transit Planning Committee (TPC): The matters within the jurisdiction of the TPC are transit-specific plans and studies, beyond those addressed in PPLC; transit-specific policy coordination; transit collaboration efforts with other agencies; updates on transit plan implementation from staff and other agencies; local, state and federal funding pertaining to transit; and local, state and federal legislative issues pertaining to transit.